jump to navigation

The No Greeting Policy January 3, 2007

Posted by benj in Family, Friends, Philosophy & Religion.
trackback

I got more than fifty messages over the holiday period that pretty much had the same message – it was a short and obviously sent en masse to every other person that this individual knew. There is nothing wrong with holiday cheer. It’s the perfect time for families to get together and spend time with one another. It’s a great time to show your appreciation for other people by giving them tangible rewards.

What I don’t get is why people would still insist on greeting you inspite of the fact that you find the occasion very insulting to the very fabric of logic. The event fails to stand on many paradigms – including the roman catholic one. yes, the church has already hijacked this date from a former pagan day of worship, but the link is precarious at best.

The last few weeks have been telling as far a my family is concerned. Most (if not all) of them now know about my atheism. Apparently, non-attendance to the service the everyone else went to spells out as a major red flag. To “euphemize” it to the young ones, I was labeled as a non-xtian as opposed to an atheist.

I appreciate my family for their open-mindedness and respect for my autonomy to make my choice – but personally, I dont think my atheism is a choice — to verbalize and realize my disbelief. I just hope those idiots who sent me merry christmas messages  (sans the atheist disclaimer) would acquire similar common sense.

Comments»

1. rex - January 6, 2007

Mabuti naman pala at hindi kita nigreet noong Pasko! hehe!

Curious lang ako, mayroon na bang ibang relatives or friends na kumuha sa iyo as Ninong for their children? Hehe!

2. bleue - January 7, 2007

hahaha! i greeted you last christmas! intentionally, though i know you have your own beliefs, ala lang! lolz! peace man! wahehehe!


Leave a Reply

